Citizens’ Climate Education’s Governing Board

Board Member: Dr. Natasha DeJarnett


Dr. Natasha DeJarnett is a graduate of the University of Louisville in Louisville, Kentucky where she completed her PhD in Public Health (2013) and Masters of Public Health
(2009), both concentrating in environmental health sciences. As a postdoc at the University, she was awarded a fellowship by the National Institute of Environmental Health
Sciences to investigate cardiovascular risks of air pollution exposures.

In 2015, she became the recipient of the prestigious Impact Award from the Society of Toxicology’s Cardiovascular Toxicology Specialty Section for her 2014 paper “Acrolein
Exposure is Associated with Increased Cardiovascular Disease Risk.” Dr. DeJarnett was named the 2017 Alumna of the Year for the University of Louisville School of Public Health
and Information Sciences and concurrently awarded designation in the class of 2017 Alumni Fellows.

Currently, she is a policy analyst in the American Public Health Association’s Center for Public Health Policy where she leads the Natural Environment portfolio which includes
air and water exposures along with climate change.

Chair of Governance Committee: Sandra Kirtland Turner

Sandra KirtlandSandra Kirtland Turner is an assistant professor of paleoclimatology and paleoceanography at University of California, Riverside.

Following postdoctorate work at the Scripps Institute of Oceanography and the University of Bristol, her research focuses on applying a coupled data-model approach to
quantitatively reconstruct carbon cycle and climate processes on a warm Earth, particularly in response to episodes of rapid climate change.

She specializes in the generation of high-resolution geochemical records from deep-sea sediment cores and interprets these records through development and application of Earth
system models that can simulate physical and biogeochemical processes in the atmosphere, oceans, and deep-sea sediments over a variety of timescales.

Chairman: Scott Leckman, M.D.

Governing Board Chairman Scott LeckmanDr. Leckman, a general surgeon in Salt Lake City, is the former chairman of the board of directors of RESULTS and the RESULTS Educational Fund, which work to create the political will to end the worst aspects of poverty.

In 2001, Dr. Leckman helped initiate the Health Access Project, a program to improve comprehensive health care for low-income individuals in Salt Lake County. More than 600
physicians and all nine hospitals are providing free care to qualified individuals which, since 2002, totals more than $16 million in donated health care.

Board Member: Marshall Saunders

Founder Marshall Saunders on the steps of the U.S. CapitolBefore founding Citizens’ Climate Education, Marshall Saunders,a successful businessman turned philanthropist, personally facilitated millions of
microcredit loans in the developing world as a RESULTS volunteer. He is one of only six recipients of the Grameen Humanitarian Award and has served as chairman of the board of
Grameen de la Frontera, a microcredit lender in Sonora, Mexico.

With ever-rising energy production and increased use, Saunders believes citizens must create the political will for a sustainable climate, by empowering themselves to exercise
their personal and political power.

Board Member: Claudine Schneider

Claudine SchneiderFormer Republican Congresswoman Claudine Schneider represented Rhode Island’s 2nd district from 1981-1991. She has served on the faculty of
Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government, co-founded and served as vice president of Energia Global, and now specializes in ecological economics.

Schneider is a progressive leader in policies related to Climate, Energy, Environment and Ecological Economics, with legislative credentials at the forefront of enlightened
policies to drive global environmental responsibility while proactively enhancing U.S. competitiveness.

Treasurer and Chair of Finance Committee: Zinovia Spezakis, CFA

As Managing Director of Allianz Global Investors, Zinovia Spezakis was responsible for the operations and risk management of $130 billion in assets. After 20 years as an investment management executive with specialties in operations and social media, she moved to the cleantech industry. She is now a director of Ecolectro Inc., a clean tech start-up, and a member of the Cornell University Atkinson’s Center Alumni Advisory Board – Sustainability. She is interested in ways to draw down greenhouse gases from the atmosphere.

In her spare time, she is an avid gardener and enjoys hiking.

Secretary: Mark Tabbert

Governing Board Secretary Mark TabbertMark Tabbert had a 23-year sales-related trading career before starting his own trading and brokerage business. An experienced broker in the small-
business world, he serves on the boards of the the Orange County Interfaith Coalition for the Environment and the Banning Ranch Conservancy.

Mark Tabbet has been, since 2012, a full time volunteer lobbyist with the Citizens’ Climate Lobby and co-founder of the 1st Orange County Chapter. Mark is a 1969 graduate in
Political Science from SMU in Texas, served two years in the Army in Special Services, worked three years for Proctor and Gamble, and then sales-related trading work in the
steel industry for twenty years. In 1997 he started his own business doing executive search and later worked as a business broker.

In the spring of 2001, Mark completed 15 units of graduate study at the Claremont School of Theology. “The life-changing course I took at Claremont was Earth Ethics, which
really enlightened me as to the state of the natural world we live in. Climate Change is but one problem, but the problem with the shortest fuse”.